Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Kermadec Islands Flag

Flag of New Zealand's 'Earth Quake Islands'
Kermadec Islands Flag

These group of islands in the South Pacific are administered by New Zealand. They are named after Captain Jean Michael Houn Kermadec who visited the area at the end of the 18th century. This flag is thus a merge of designs of the French and New Zealand Flags - current and future. Future because whenever New Zealand chooses a new national flag the southern cross will be used and the star design will be red outlined with white.

The saw tooth design shows that this part of New Zealand lies along one of the most active boundaries of the Pacific Rim and is witness to many earthquakes every year.

They also represent the five main islands.
(1) Raoul Island - the largest
(2) Macauley Island - 2nd largest
(3) Curtis Island - 3rd largest
(4) Nugent Island - northern most
(5) Cheeseman Island


  1. How about a larger image of this flag? Thanks

  2. Hello,
    Could someone reproduce a larger png or svg image of this flag? Thanks!

  3. Hey guys, how about a bigger image SVG of this flag? Anyone?:??

  4. Does anyone read this page? I was hoping someone there could reproduce this flag image in SVG. Still waiting....

  5. Hello, I don't know how to make a SVG image, sorry. I recommend you use the "snipping tool" then edit it from there. Then network with someone who is familiar with converting jpg to SVG. It's probably a really easy thing to do, but I don't know how.