Saturday, July 30, 2011

International Congress of Vexillology 24, NAVA 45, CBFA Union Flag

ICV 24 Vexillological Union Flag

This flag represents of union of four flags. It was made spontaneously on a whim on Saturday July 30, 2011 in honor of 24th International Congress of Vexillology.

It combines the flags of the North American Vexillological Association, the Chesapeake Bay Flag Association, the International Federation of Vexillological Associations, and ICV 24 Washington Congress Flag which is simultaneously the NAVA 45 flag.

ICV 24 & NAVA 45 Congress Flag

Ironically the meeting was held in Alexandria, Virginia but there were a few organized excursions to Washington, DC. The canton of the ICV 24 Union Flag is a shortened version of the Washington Congress Flag. The ICV 24 Union Flag is missing eight stars and is in the shape of a traditional canton - a square.


This field of the ICV 24 Union Flag takes it colours and design from the Chesapeake Bay Association. This flag group hosted and supplied most of the volunteers for this congress. The stars were removed from the CBFA Flag because the canton of the ICV 24 Union Flag already had sixteen stars. The two dark blue stripes of the CBFA flag were conserved by being rotated 90 degrees and positioned along the fly instead of the bottom.


Off center towards the fly is the badge. It is composed of a modified NAVA and IFVA. The basic pattern of the NAVA flag is conserved and merged with the distinguished element of the International Federation of Vexillological Association flag. The repeated V of many vexillological conference flags is made more pronounced and also represents the state of where it was held - Virginia. It was essential that these two flags be connected since this meeting was both a NAVA and IFVA congress.

Finally this ICV 24 Vexi-Union flag is an echo of the final Confederate Flag of my design. This was done in honor of Virginia's rich history. The seal of the Confederacy was added for artistic purposes, since we were in the former territory of the Washington District of Columbia.

No comments:

Post a Comment