Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Hesh Flag from Sea Lab 2021

The Hesh flag from the animated adult oriented comedy show Sea Lab 2021 is a horizontal tribal of white, blue, and white.  Off center to towards the hoist is the silhouette of Hesh holding a microphone raising his right hand.

Sea Lab 2021 Flag

The flag for the experimental sea lab station of the future in the animated series Sea Lab 2021 has yellow background and the silhouette of the station in blue centered in the middle.

International Extended Continental Shelf Flag

The International Extended Continental Shelf Flag is composed of the colours black, white, yellow, and lime green.  It indicates that a particular seabed area is under sovereignty of a nation.  As this is an internationally coded flag, it should be flown with a national flag to indicate respective control.

Note this flag does not have to be flown on the bottom of the seabed.  It can be flown on ship, rig, or buoy to indicate a national claim along the sea floor, but remember that the waters are international and fishing rights extended to all official nations.
The seven stripes represent the seven seas of ancient lore.

Sunday, November 15, 2015

US Sea Floor Continental Shelf Flag

Flag for the US Sea Floor Continental Shelf Claim - Beyond the Exclusive Economic Zone

The Extended and regular Continental Shelf claim is the modern day frontier of the United States.  All nations get an extra "Sea Floor Claim" of 150 Nautical Miles beyond their Exclusive Economic Zone. Note, this only applies to the sea floor and not to the air and ocean above, at least yet.   Sea Floor rights are related to minerals and creatures on the bottom of the ocean.  Thus oil deposits found in this area belong to one particular nation.  Likewise any crabs, sponges, starfish, lobsters, and clams are under sovereign marine jurisdiction.  But any fish swimming in these waters are in International Waters, free for the pickings of any fisherman. 

Unlike the unresolved Lunar and Antarctica claims, the Extended Continental Shelf Claims are a hot topic for industries in the mining, crabbing, scientific exploration communites, and James Cameron.

The Extended Continental Self claim of the United States is estimated to be about half the size of the Louisiana Purchase.  Certainly a strange claim, since, it can extend the sea floor rights of a nation a maximum of 100 Nautical Miles beyond the established 150 Nautical Mile seafloor claim further out from the Exclusive Economic Zone but only if certain requirements are met.

First this measurement must fall at a depth of 2500 meters below sea; and within the established continental shelf claim.  To restate that's 2.5 kilometers below sea level.  Then perpendicular from this point (the 2500 meter isobath depth) a nation's Extended Seafloor Claim can reach out an extra 100 Nautical Miles.  Thus in theory, a nation could have extended seafloor rights that reach up to a maximum of 450 Nautical Miles out to Sea from a nations low tide coastline mark.  This only applies if the 2500 meter depth Isobath (depth from sea level) just happens to be on the 350th Nautical Mile out to sea.

 Note that Extended Continental Shelf claims are all in, or rather under, international waters.  This means that the Extended Continental Shelf Claim applies only to the surface of the Earth underwater.  All waters and airspace directly above the Extended Continental Shelf Claim does belong to any one particular nation.

Eventually this situation will change when people colonize the bottom of the sea in the 22nd Century.  In theory, as it has not yet happened, a person born on the bottom on the sea floor has the right to fly this flag.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Flag for Americans born in International Airspace

The flag for American born in International Airspace unclaimed by the nations uses the colours white, red, and blue.

Nominally this could take place over flights over the Pacific or Atlantic Ocean.  Although rare, births aboard international air flights have been occurring with more frequency each decade.

Sunday, November 8, 2015

Flag for Americans born in Domestic US Airspace

The flag for Americans born in the skies of the United States has a navy blue background central star on a blue disc that is surrounded by a white circle.  Across the circle is a horizontal striped wing pattern that is white blue and white.  The central emblem looks like a US Air Force marking but is slightly different. 

Although a rare occurrence, as time moves on there are more and more people born in US Airspace every decade. 

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Flag for Americans born in Foreign Airspace

The flag for Americans born over Foreign Airspace uses the colours red, white and blue.  The central symbol is a modified roundel emblem based upon the USAF.

For example if an American is born in the air on an aircraft while flying through Canadian, Russian, European, or Brazilian airspace, then they have a right to fly this flag.