Sunday, June 26, 2016

Flag for the Senkaku or Diaoyu or Diaoyutai Islands

The geographic latitude and longitude flag for the Senkaku or Diaoyu or Diaoyutai Islands uses a tribar of red, orange, and yellow.  The three names of the islands are due to the three current claims on them by Japan, China, and Taiwan.

These colours are coded to numbers, which follow the established order of the official rainbow.  The first colour of the rainbow is red, so red is 1, then the second colour of the rainbow is orange, so orange is 2, and the third colour of the rainbow is yellow, so yellow is 3.  Thus the tribar represent the number 123, and these isles are at 123 Degrees East.  The Eastern Hemisphere is indicated by the central yellow pentagon, otherwise it would be white, which would indicate the Western Hemisphere.

The central stars represent numbers of latitude.  The dominant star is orange, coded to 2, while the lesser star is green, coded to 4 - since green is the fourth colour of the rainbow.  The dominant star also represents to 10s column of latitude, while the lesser star represents to 1s column of latitude.  Finally the dominant star is pointing upwards, indicates a northern line of latitude.

 Image Credit:

No comments:

Post a Comment