Thursday, March 19, 2015

Tasmania New South Wales Heritage Flag

For 37 years from 1788 until 1825 Tasmania was a part of Australia's New South Wales.   But Tasmania's maiden name was Van Diemen's Land.  In 1856 Tasmania reinvented herself with an Aboriginal name, switching from the Dutch sounding Van Diemen's Land to Tasmania.

Tasmania broke away from New South Wales before the genesis of New Zealand, ironically New Zealand would keep her Dutch name, but Van Diemen's Land would not. 

The flag of the Tasmania New South Wales heritage flag is based upon the designs of current flags for New South Wales and Tasmania.

No comments:

Post a Comment