Wednesday, March 9, 2011

The Hearaldry of Harry Potter

Hogwarts United Coat of Arms

When a new student arrives at Hogwarts, they are assigned to one of four houses. This is done by the Sorting Hat - that talks. The Sorting Hat seems to read the intentions and feelings of the wearer and assigns the student via a magical dynamic and sense of proper destiny.

The four teaching teams at Hogwarts are Gryffindor the Lion, Hufflepuff the Badger, Ravenclaw the Eagle, and Slytherin the Snake.

Each house has its own livery of colours. Subsequently the Harry Potter Fan Base has created heralds for these houses at Hogwarts. J.K. Rowling tapped a nerve in English Folklore that has begotten a life of its own.

The House of Hufflepuff

Their emblem is the badger and the colours are black and yellow. The badger proverbially lives in the underworld, unseen by most muggles.

House of Slytherin

Their emblem is the snake and their colours are green and white. This animal is actually very nice. Muggles have an insatiable appetite to dominate the universe but the snake refuses, instead Muggles must learn to respect the snake.

House of Ravenclaw

Ravenclaw's emblem is not synonymous with its name - it is rather the Eagle. But in the final movie - Deathly Hallows 2 - there is a raven on the flag. There is also an eagle head on the crest of the helmet.

House of Gryffindor

The is house of Harry Potter. Its totem is the most famous of all - the Lion. The Lion is beloved by the Muggles and it is also the emblem for several nations - Scotland, Denmark, and England. Muggles and persons of magic are both enchanted by the power of Lions.

Sorting Hat with Flags of the Four Houses at Hogwarts
integrative Harry Potter DVD game

1 comment: