Friday, September 27, 2013

Flag for the Arctic Circle

The flag of the Antarctic Circle is quartered with two white and indigo checkered quarters.  In the opposite quadrants are solid navy blue areas, but in the upper left quadrant is the constellation Ursa Minor, the Little Bear, and the North Star.  The six stars of the 'Little Dipper' have four points, and North Star has five points. The checker pattern is based upon the feeling one gets when crossing a finish line, but in this case it is a congratulatory checker wave for crossing the Arctic Circle.

The Arctic Circle runs through Canada, the United States, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, and Greenland at 66 degrees North.

Photo Credit:

No comments:

Post a Comment