Thursday, July 12, 2012

Unorganized Territory Heritage Flag of the USA

Unorganized Territory Heritage Flag - USA

There are parts of the United States that existed in limbo. They were not officially a part of a state or working territory. Rather they were classified as 'Unorganized Territory.' Thus this flag is for those regions of the US that were put in the 'other-whatever' category for a while.

This flag is post-historical and modern. It is based upon the fusion of the Federal Banner with the flag of Washington DC - since the federal government, Washington D.C, was in charge.

The 13 stars in the canton reflect the original 13 colonies and the shape of a cross reflects the Christian Heritage of America's Founding Fathers.

However, right now Palmyra Atoll, Midway, Johnston Island, Baker Island, Howland Island, Kingman Reef, Wake Island, and American Samoa all actively hold an Unorganized Status within the United States.

As for states that are no longer unorganized the states initials are to be written in between the canton and red stars. Also in middle of the red stripes, the years of when it was unorganized. But if a state had more than one unorganized time period then all relevant dates should be written. Thee second white lower stripe can also be used for dates.

No comments:

Post a Comment